2013 European Union Prize for Literature Announced by Commissioner Androulla Vassiliou

The EU Prize for Literature rewards the best new or emerging authors throughout Europe. Organised by the European Commission in cooperation with the European Booksellers Federation, European Writers’ Council and the Federation of European Publishers, the
competition is open to authors in the 37 countries involved in the EU Culture Programme1. Each year, national juries in a third of these countries nominate the winning authors, so that all countries are represented over a three-year period.

This year’s 12 winners have been revealed today during the opening ceremony of the Göteborg Book Fair by Androulla Vassiliou, EU Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth.

You can find further details here: