European Union Prize for Literature

The aim is to put the spotlight on the creative and diverse wealth of Europe’s contemporary literature, promote more circulation of literature within Europe and greater interest in non-national literary works. Each year, in the course of three years (2009-2011), the juries of part of the 36 countries participating in the EU Culture Programme will select one emerging fiction writer from their own country. The first edition of the Prize was awarded on 28 September 2009; the second edition of the ceremony took place on 18 November 2010, and the third is scheduled for 28 November 2011 and will complete the first cycle of 36 awards. www.euprizeliterature.eu

  • In November 2010, the Commission confirmed the consortium responsible for the first two editions, the European Booksellers Federation (EBF), the European Writers’ Council (EWC) and the Federation of European Publishers (FEP), to coordinate the initiative in 2011. The three associations are jointly responsible for the setting up of the national juries and the practical organisation of the award ceremony. FEP is project leader.
  • The selected countries for 2011 were Bulgaria, The Czech Republic, Greece, Iceland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Malta, Montenegro, Serbia, The Netherlands, Turkey and United Kingdom.
  • The winning authors were announced in October 2011 at an event during the Frankfurt Book Fair. FEP and the rest of the consortium cooperated to organise other promotional events for the Prize at the Fair.
  • During a high-profile ceremony on 28 November 2011, at the presence of public figures from the field of culture, literature and politics as well as a broad European audience, Commissioner Vassiliou in charge of Culture, MEP Doris Pack (EPP, Germany), Chairwoman of the EP Culture Committee, and Bogdan Zdrojewski, Minister of Culture and National Heritage of Poland handed out an award to each of the emerging talents.
  • The selected countries for 2012 are Austria, Croatia, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Norway, Poland , Portugal, Slovakia and Sweden.
  • FEP and the rest of the consortium promoted the Prize in April 2012 at the London Book Fair. FEP participated in two seminars to present the Prize, as well as the work of some of the previous winners invited to the debate.
  • The 12 authors selected for 2012 will be awarded in a new high-profile ceremony on 22 November 2012.