European Union Prize for Literature 2013

The 2013 European Union Prize for Literature took place on the 26th of November at the Concert Noble in Brussels. Androulla Vassiliou, the Commissioner in charge of Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, will be presenting the awards, and Doris Pack, chair of the European Parliament Culture and Education Committee, and Šarūnas Birutis, Lithuanian Minister of Culture, were amongst the guests of honour, as well as the distinguished winners themselves, who were as follows:

Isabelle Wéry (Belgium)
Faruk Šehić (Bosnia-Herzegovina )
Emilios Solomou (Cyprus)
Kristian Bang Foss (Denmark)
Meelis Friedenthal (Estonia)
Katri Lipson (Finland)
Lidija Dimkovska (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia)
Marica Bodrožić (Germany)
Tullio Forgiarini (Luxembourg)
Ioana Pârvulescu (Romania)
Gabriela Babnik (Slovenia)
Cristian Crusat (Spain)

©European Commission

For more information, please visit

For the press release



For photos from the event

For the complete video of the ceremony